Neat New Lens for Sony; Initial Thoughts From A Fuji X User

There’s been a new lens announcement. It’s the Tamron 35-150mm F/2-2.8! I’m not a Sony ILC owner, but it seems like a truly fantastic lens. I’ve been really hoping that for the Fuji system, a Sigma ART lens could be made with such specifications! The aperture of F/2.8 of the Tamron is quite large of an aperture for 150mm of focal length! Such a lens can pass about as much light through it as a 50mm lens could at F/0.93 lens. F/0.9 isn’t the same as F/2.8 in terms of aperture, but in the example, it is accurate in regard to the exit pupil. This means that it could be a relatively great lens for lowlight photography! I’ve wanted to own a Sigma ART lens for some time, but never before had much of the chance to obtain one. Ideally, I’ve been thinking that Sigma could create a 35mm ART lens alongside (or separately from) a very bright aperture ART lens; such a set of lenses in particular could boost my photography creativity to a new level. Maybe an extremely bright 35mm ART could be enough? Probably not for my budget though.

Leave a comment